Lecture No. 1 with Aza Raskin.


Please join us today for the first lecture of the Knight-Mozilla learning lab.

Details on how to join the live lecture can be found in the e-mail that was sent to you this morning. If you did not receive the e-mail, please direct message Phillip (http://p2pu.org/en/phillipadsmith/ ) or Alex (http://p2pu.org/en/asamur/ )

Leture No. 1 details:

When: Monday, July 11, 2011 (today!) at 10AM PT / 1PM ET / 6PM BST / 7PM CEST

Please double-check the time in your local timezone: http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html

Agenda

Note: This first lecture will be a bit longer than usual, and will start a bit later than usual. Most lectures will be at 8AM or 9AM Pacific.

Today's call will start with a quick overview of the course logistics, an introduction to the lab faculty and P2PU.org, and a comment about Big Blue Button (http://www.bigbluebutton.org ), the conferencing system that we will be using over the next four weeks for the live lectures.

Our guest -- Aza Raskin -- will join us at 10:30AM Pacific. Around 11AM Pacific we'll open up the lecture to a question and answer period. We'll aim to have today's lecture concluded by 11:30AM Pacific.

The topic: Aza Raskin is a renowned interface designer who recently held the position of Creative Lead for Firefox. Aza's lecture will focus on designing in the open and rapid prototyping.

A quick note on attendance: We expect all lab participants to make a best-possible effort to attend the Monday and Wednesday lectures. If there are circumstances that prevent you from doing so (such as time zone challenges, or other comittments), please get in touch with Phillip (http://p2pu.org/en/phillipadsmith/ ) or Alex (http://p2pu.org/en/asamur/ ) via direct message on P2PU.org to work out an alternate arrangement.

Intro slides:

Recorded lecture link: http://ps.ht/nwggF3

 

Extra notes

I also wanted to include a link to the blog post that inspired Aza's talk on Monday: http://www.azarask.in/blog/post/how-to-prototype-and-influence-people/

Also, I've made a 10-minute edit of the video on that post where Aza demonstrates how to build a prototype rapidly using just HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. It's worth watching, as it will explain a bit of the screen sharing that Aza was doing on the lecture (which wasn't recorded).

Task Discussion