Lecture No. 6 with Jesse James Garrett


Please join us Friday for the sixth lecture of the #MozNewsLab.

Details on how to join the live lecture can be found in the e-mail that will be sent to you Friday morning. If you do not receive the e-mail, please direct message Phillip (http://p2pu.org/en/phillipadsmith/ ) or Alex (http://p2pu.org/en/asamur/ )

Lecture No. 6 details:

When: Friday, July 22 2011 at (today!) at 9:00 AM PT / 12:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM BST / 6:00 PM CEST

Please double-check the time in your local timezone: http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html

AGENDA

+ Speaker: We're really excited to have the person that literally 'wrote the book' on user experience: Jesse James Garrett. In 2002, Jesse wrote the book The Elements of User Experience (http://www.jjg.net/elements/ ) -- it is a seminal work on user-centered design. 
 
Wikipedia says "Jesse James Garrett is a user experience designer. In a 2005 paper, Garrett coined the term Ajax to describe the technology behind emerging services likeGoogle Maps and Google Suggest, as well as the resulting user experience which made it possible to eliminate reloading the whole page."  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jesse_James_Garrett
 
More than that, Jesse co-founded the pioneering user experience firm, Adaptive Path (http://adaptivepath.com/ ). Adaptive Path recently won a Knight News Challenge grant for their project to re-conceive the relationship between citizens and media organizations, iWitness (http://adaptivepath.com/ideas/woah-adaptive-path-wins-knight-news-challenge-grant ).
 
+ Topic: Jesse is going to share his conceptual model of user-centered design -- literally, how to think about keeping users at the center of your software products -- a topic that is near-and-dear to Mozilla, and is exemplifed in products like Firefox.

A quick note on attendance: Today's lecture is an optional lecture and we will not be taking attendance. That said, we'll be really happy to see you there, as will Jesse.

Link to recorded event: http://ps.ht/qGQ7G7

Task Discussion